What is abuse / definitions of abuse

The Care and support statutory guidance identifies ten types of abuse, these are:

  • Physical abuse
  • Domestic violence or abuse
  • Sexual abuse
  • Psychological or emotional abuse
  • Financial or material abuse
  • Modern slavery
  • Discriminatory abuse
  • Organisational or institutional abuse
  • Neglect or acts of omission
  • Self-neglect

     Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCie) have published some useful examples of what these categories of abuse and neglect might look like.

    man looking stressed

    You can find out more about types of abuse and how to get help in stopping abuse in our easy read Guide to the public on protecting at risk of abuse and neglect.

    You can download this easy to read say no to abuse leaflet or contact the safeguardingadultsboard@cornwall.gov.uk to request printed copies for yourself or for your organisation.  Also available are two posters which can be displayed  giving guidance for anyone who may have an adult safeguarding concern.

    are you worried poster 

    protecting adults poster


    Have your say...

    Comments are closed for this article

    Contact Us

    Adult Social Care

    Use the online contact form or call 0300 1234 131

    01872 326433 - for use by professionals / practitioners only
    (Adult Safeguarding Triage Team)

    To raise a safeguarding concern:

    • Use the link here to access the Portal Form
    • Or scan this QR code with any smart device

              Portal QR code